Total bg

Lectures

Ken goldberg 242x262 ks photo
May 31, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Ken Goldberg
Where Will Robots Learn?

On May 31 the Digital October Center begun a brand-new collaborative effort with IBS: a cycle of lectures focused on tomorrow’s remote technology. The creator of the first robot with a web interface, the UC Professor Ken Goldberg discussed cloud robotics, something that is bringing us closer to the day when everyone will have their own personal robot.

Seth lloyd 242x262 ks photo
July 17, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Seth Lloyd
Thinking of the Universe as a Quantum Computer

He believes that the universe is one gigantic computer, and that therefore there is somebody behind it. On July 17 Knowledge Stream  hosted a pioneer in the creation of quantum computers, MIT Professor Seth Lloyd.

Brian kennedy 242x262 ks photo
September 23, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Brian Kennedy
Aging 2.0

Today, he works on extending the lives of mice, but, once he’s done with these model animals, it will be humankind’s turn. On September 23rd, the Digital October Center hosted a lecture from Brian Kennedy, the director of the first US institution to specialize in anti-aging research.

Stephen wolfram 242x262 ks photo
November 25, 2013 20:30 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Stephen Wolfram
A New Kind of Science

On November 25th, ‘little Einstein’ Stephen Wolfram offered a lecture at the Digital October Center on a project that has been compared with Google and that is already being used by Apple, as well as the unique language in which the project was written.

Viktor mayer sch nberger 242x262 ks photo
December 02, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Viktor Mayer-Schonberger
Big Data Revolution

Why do orange cars break down less frequently than other kinds? On December 2nd, the Oxford Internet Institute-based coauthor of Big Data, offered a lecture at the Digital October Center in which he discussed how 'raw' masses of data can help us to find the ideal solutions to business, industrial, and everyday problems.

Total bg

Лекции

Ken goldberg 242x262 ks photo
31 мая 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Кен Голдберг
Где учатся роботы?

31 мая центр Digital October открыл новый совместный с компанией IBS цикл лекций о технологиях завтрашнего дня телемостом с создателем первого робота с веб-интерфейсом, профессором Калифорнийского университета Кеном Голдбергом. Он рассказал об «облачной робототехнике» – том, что уже делает Google, и том, что приблизит день, когда робот будет у каждого.

Seth lloyd 242x262 ks photo
17 июля 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Сет Ллойд
Вселенная — квантовый компьютер

Он верит, что Вселенная — это одна сплошная квантовая вычилительная машина, а, значит, за ней кто-то работает. 17 июля на Knowledge Stream в центре Digital October выступил создатель одной из возможных моделей квантового компьютера, профессор Массачусетского технологического университета Сет Ллойд.

Brian kennedy 242x262 ks photo
23 сентября 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Брайан Кеннеди
Лекарство от старости

Сегодня он продлевает жизнь мышам, но вслед за модельными животными придет очередь человека. 23 сентября в центре Digital October директор первого в США специализированного института антивозрастных исследований рассказал, как биологи учатся предотвращать опаснейшие заболевания с помощью уникальных бактерий с острова Пасхи, и какие перемены это несет.

Stephen wolfram 242x262 ks photo
25 ноября 2013 20:30 «Прогноз на завтра»
Стивен Вольфрам
Генератор неслучайных ответов

Если суперкомпьютеру в книге Дугласа требовалось место на краю галактики и невообразимое количество ресурсов, то Alpha британца Стивена Вольфрама делает сложнейшие вычисления и дает готовые ответы на ваши вопросы прямо в браузере. 25 ноября он рассказал о ней и своей Mathematica в центре Digital October.

Viktor mayer sch nberger 242x262 ks photo
02 декабря 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Виктор Майер-Шенбергер
Больше, чем данные

Он «приручил» дискеты, а сегодня «приручает» супермассивы информации. 2 декабря соавтор бестселлера «Большие данные» рассказал в Digital October, как растущие вычислительные мощности помогают прогнозировать будущее, совершать неожиданные открытия и можно ли наказать за преступление, которого еще не было.