Total bg

Lectures

Nigel townsend 242x262 ks photo
November 01, 2013 19:00 The Future of Communication
Nigel Townsend and Ben Musgrave
Theatre of Science

On November 1st, Nigel Townsend and Ben Musgrave offered a digital practicum devoted to how Y Touring creates theatre to engage young adults in conversation about the latest developments in biomedical science..

Eugene koonin 242x262 ks photo
October 31, 2013 19:00 Biotechnology
Eugene Koonin
Evolution: from Darwin to the post genomic era

When Darwin wrote his Origin of Species, he didn’t know half of what we know now. On October 31st, Eugene Koonin, the most oft-cited Russian scientist and Senior Investigator at the NCBI(USA), offered a modern take on evolution at the Digital October Center.

Craig anderton 242x262 ks photo
October 20, 2013 19:00 The Future of Media
Craig Anderton
Future Of Music

At the Gibson, he’s known as none other than the Chief Magic Officer, and on October 20th, sound designer Craig Anderton, who has spent the past thirty years researching, developing, and popularizing digital technologies for the arts, discussed how the music of the future is going to be made.

Brian kennedy 242x262 ks photo
September 23, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Brian Kennedy
Aging 2.0

Today, he works on extending the lives of mice, but, once he’s done with these model animals, it will be humankind’s turn. On September 23rd, the Digital October Center hosted a lecture from Brian Kennedy, the director of the first US institution to specialize in anti-aging research.

Stevan harnad 242x262 ks photo
September 19, 2013 20:00 The Future of Communication
Stevan Harnad
In web we trust

Is our intellect evolving at the same pace as the proliferation of knowledge and technology? On September 19 Stevan Harnad, an expert in the field of cognitive science and professor at the universities of Quebec and Southampton, answered that question at the Digital October Center.

Maarten sch fer anouk pappers 242x262 ks photo
September 13, 2013 19:00 The Future of Communication
Anuk Pappers and Maarten Schafer
The Brand Tales

Trusted by Richard Branson, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and others of the brightest stars and projects of our day to mold their message, authors of Around the World in 80 Brands gave a lecture coupled with a master class using stories that will be sure to inspire.

Laurence brahm 242x262 ks photo
August 19, 2013 19:00 The Economics of Happiness
Laurence Brahm
We Need a New Consensus

Adam Smith would turn over in his grave if he saw Wall Street today, according to American economist, Laurence Brahm who is economic advisor to the Chinese government, and founder of social enterprise Shambhala Serai. On August 19 he discussed the Himalayan Consensus as a new economic paradigm.

Carly annable coop 242x262 ks photo
August 12, 2013 20:00 Innovation and Education
Carly Annable-Coop
A very special dance

They teach contemporary dance to young offenders and those at risk of offending, to homeless children, to the unemployed, to the disabled – in other words, to the people whom society has written off as hopeless cases. And it works. On August 12th, guests of the Digital October Center had the chance to hear a lecture from Carly Annable-Coop, a Dance Director at Dance United.

Seth lloyd 242x262 ks photo
July 17, 2013 20:00 Forecast For Tomorrow – the technology of the near future
Seth Lloyd
Thinking of the Universe as a Quantum Computer

He believes that the universe is one gigantic computer, and that therefore there is somebody behind it. On July 17 Knowledge Stream  hosted a pioneer in the creation of quantum computers, MIT Professor Seth Lloyd.

David deutsch 242x262 ks photo
June 24, 2013 20:00 Science for Geeks
David Deutsch
Constructor of the Impossible

On June 24 the Knowledge Stream project hosted the well-known British theoretical physicist and originator of the idea for the quantum processor, David Deutsch. He presented his newest big idea: the fundamental “constructor theory,” one which is able to explain everything around us from a position new to physics.

Total bg

Лекции

Nigel townsend 242x262 ks photo
01 ноября 2013 19:00 «Будущее коммуникации»
Найджел Тауншенд и Бен Масгрейв
Театр наук

Их постановки видел миллион человек! 1 ноября Найджел Тауншенд и Бен Масгрейв из Y Touring Theatre рассказали в Digital October, почему наука и искусство идут рука об руку, и провели цифровой практикум по биологии принятия решений. 

Eugene koonin 242x262 ks photo
31 октября 2013 19:00 «Биотехнологии»
Евгений Кунин
Эволюция: от Дарвина к постгеному

Когда Дарвин писал «Происхождение видов», он еще не знал того, что знаем мы. 31 октября самый цитируемый русский ученый, ведущий сотрудник NCBI (США) Евгений Кунин представил в Digital October современный взгляд на эволюционное учение.

Craig anderton 242x262 ks photo
20 октября 2013 19:00 «Будущее медиа»
Крэйг Андертон
Будущее музыки

В корпорации Gibson его называют не иначе как «главный по магии» – 20 октября саунд-дизайнер Крэйг Андертон, тридцать лет занимающийся исследованием, развитием и популяризацией цифровых технологий в творчестве, рассказал, как будет создаваться музыка будущего.

Brian kennedy 242x262 ks photo
23 сентября 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Брайан Кеннеди
Лекарство от старости

Сегодня он продлевает жизнь мышам, но вслед за модельными животными придет очередь человека. 23 сентября в центре Digital October директор первого в США специализированного института антивозрастных исследований рассказал, как биологи учатся предотвращать опаснейшие заболевания с помощью уникальных бактерий с острова Пасхи, и какие перемены это несет.

Stevan harnad 242x262 ks photo
19 сентября 2013 20:00 «Будущее коммуникации»
Стивен Харнад
Веб всему голова

19 сентября основатель кембриджского журнала «Наука о поведении и мозге» и эксперт в области когнитивной психологии рассказал в центре Digital October, скоро ли веб сможет заменить человека.

Maarten sch fer anouk pappers 242x262 ks photo
13 сентября 2013 19:00 «Будущее коммуникации»
Анук Папперс и Маартен Шафер
Брендовые истории

Рассказать о себе им доверили Ричард Брэнсон, Red Hot Chili Peppers и еще десятки самых ярких людей и проектов эпохи – 13 сентября авторы «Вокруг света за 80 брендов» провели в центре Digital October лекцию и закрепляющий мастер-класс об историях, которые не могут не вдохновлять.

Laurence brahm 242x262 ks photo
19 августа 2013 19:00 «Экономика счастья»
Лоренс Брам
Экономика, которую мы заслужили

Адам Смит сегодня пошел бы громить Уолл-стрит, считает американский экономист, советник правительства КНР и основатель Shambhala Serai Лоренс Брам. 19 августа он рассказал в центре Digital October о «гималайском консенсусе» — экономической парадигме, позволяющей бороться со всемирным кризисом и климатическим изменениями.

Carly annable coop 242x262 ks photo
12 августа 2013 20:00 «Инновации в образовании»
Карли Эннэйбл-Куп
Танец специального назначения

Они учат современному танцу преступников, беспризорников, безработных, инвалидов и других социально неадаптированных — в общем, всех, на ком общество поставило крест. И это работает. 12 августа перед гостями центра Digital October выступила Карли Эннэйбл-Куп, директор британской программы Dance United.

Seth lloyd 242x262 ks photo
17 июля 2013 20:00 «Прогноз на завтра»
Сет Ллойд
Вселенная — квантовый компьютер

Он верит, что Вселенная — это одна сплошная квантовая вычилительная машина, а, значит, за ней кто-то работает. 17 июля на Knowledge Stream в центре Digital October выступил создатель одной из возможных моделей квантового компьютера, профессор Массачусетского технологического университета Сет Ллойд.

David deutsch 242x262 ks photo
24 июня 2013 20:00 «Наука для гиков»
Дэвид Дойч
Конструктор невозможного

24 июня в центре Digital October выступил известный британский физик-теоретик, автор идеи квантового процессора Дэвид Дойч. Он представил российской аудитории свою новую большую идею — фундаментальную теорию конструктора, способную объяснить все вокруг, включая такие понятия, как знания и свободная воля, с новых для физики позиций.